One Little Word: January

After a month of preparing and brainstorming, I finally have a  foundation of how I want to use my word, Rooted, in 2014.

 photo IMG_8819_zpsda9bb4cd.jpg

Intentions:

physical: exercise and eating healthy need to be a top priority, I need to live my life as an example to people that I could be training in the next couple of months. I need to be more intentional with working out and having a set schedule for my physical fitness. I plan on trying different types of workouts so that I can be knowledgeable in my field and have participated in many different types activities so that I can know what to recommend to people (what you mean running/lifting isn’t ideal for everyone?). I want to be well informed on new and upcoming supplements and health claims so that I can be the most helpful.

emotional: I intended to be rooted in my emotions and better describing how I feel to other people. I intend to live my life through Ecclesiastes 3:1-8.

For everything there is a season,

a time for every activity under heaven.

A time to be born and a time to die.

A time to plant and a time to harvest.

A time to kill and a time to heal.

A time to tear down and a time to build up.

A time to cry and a time to laugh.

A time to grieve and a time to dance.

A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.

A time to embrace and a time to turn away.

A time to search and a time to quit searching.

A time to keep and a time to throw away.

A time to tear and a time to mend.

A time to quiet and a time to speak.

A time to love and a time to hate.

A time for war and a time for peace.

And with this verse, I desperately pray that God shows me His timing. That he reminds me of my pride when the tears won’t come. That he reminds me of His peace when worry is taking over my heart. That he reminds me to laugh, even when I’m hurting. There is a season for all of these and even though some may not happen this year, that I would be prepared for them when they do happen.

spiritual: I intend to continue pursuing God through prayer, scripture reading, and community. I will be leading  a community group for my church this semester and I am so excited to see how God can grow me through both that and being a pledge trainer. I am interested in investigating my role at church during the second part of the year after college. What does it look like to share my faith in the professional world? How can I share without being too pushy and unprofessional? Considering all these questions and then some.

relationships: This is a big one. One that I have to be the most intentional about. I really want to discover/discuss the love languages of my close friends and family to see how I can better love the people around me. I am not a touchy/huggy person so I often forget how important this is to others and I think that I can better show my love if I am more aware and really make an effort to love the way that makes them feel loved the best. I want to keep deep friendships thriving if friends have to move away after graduation. What does it look like to have “long-distance” friendships and how can I be purposeful from a different state?

creative: I want to nourish myself with creative outlets. I have felt myself getting a little out of control as far as I-have-so-many-ideas-but-I-don’t-know-what-to-do-with-them feelings. I hope to cling to Project Life as well as a couple simple projects to complete as I have time. I would like to limit my pinterest time and really focus on what I want to do and not what others have already done. I want my space on the internet to be unique and interesting, a blog I would enjoy reading. Also, i’d like to explore the idea of creating my own e-course in the future.

*My main intention for 2014 is to choose to be rooted in my decisions and in my God. Following His plans and making the best decisions for my future, so that I can be my best and my happiest.

One thought on “One Little Word: January

Leave a Reply

