Chalkboard Party Tray

I did some pinterest searching in November to find gifts for both Kevin’s and my mom. We wanted it to be handmade and unique and when I saw those REALLY cute chalkboard cheese trays, we decided to go for it. So, I went out and bought all the supplies to make them: wooden oval (in the wood burning section at Michael’s), chalkboard paint, and chalk. As I was checking out the paint label, I noticed that it said “do not consume” on the label. I got a little nervous and decided to go better-safe-than-sorry for this gift, so I also picked up some oven/microwave/dishwasher safe Christmas serving bowls. After doing some research when I got home, I found that chalkboard paint can be toxic if consumed, so if accidentally gets chipped or scrapped it can get onto the food and be harmful.

I ended up painting the whole tray with the chalkboard paint, let it dry for 24 hours and then re-coated it to make it more even. After that layer dried, I covered the whole thing in a layer of chalk to help it set. Then I washed it off with a washcloth, and ta-da.

 photo IMG_0106_zps3d51fcfd.jpg photo IMG_0091_zpsaed46934.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

