One Little Word for 2014

Last year, I had such an easy time choosing my word for the year, joyThis year, it wasn’t so easy. I have tons of big things coming up this year – graduation, finding a job, making a home somewhere. I mean this stuff is big and totally affects the rest of my life. It’s the foundation that I will build my life on. Pretty scary-awesome to think about. When I thought about foundation though, it reminded me of Colossians 2:6-7:

And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.

That verse has so much wrapped into it, but mostly, I want my life to be built on Him.

My roots digging deep where He has so graciously placed me.

ROOT:

n. the part of a plant that attaches it to the ground or support, typically underground, conveying water and nourishment to the rest of the plant via branches and fibers.

n. the basic cause, source or origin of something.

v. establish deeply and firmly.
20131231-005508.jpg

I want to be thankful.

I want to be full of joy.

I want to be nourished by The Word, good conversations, family traditions, experiences, and simplicity.

I want to be deeply in love with my life.

I want to be firm in my faith and confidence in myself.

I want to lay down a foundation for the rest of my life – doing what I love and spending time with the people that I love.

I want to be rooted.

2 thoughts on “One Little Word for 2014

Leave a Reply

