Find Your Voice: Lesson One

I can already tell that this is going to be interesting. The reason why I use so many pictures on my blog is because I don’t feel confident in my writing or that people really care to read that. So, bear with me while I take this journey.

Writing from the prompt:

Storytelling is all about opening up; not being afraid to tell people the things that are going on in your life. It’s recording life so that in the future I can remember the little things. I always wonder if, by 50, blogs won’t exist and all of my journals and scrapbooks will be in the garbage somewhere. But regardless, here we are and here is my story.

I’m Jacqueline and I’m hard to describe. On one hand, I’m a girly girl who enjoys crafting, love stories, and getting dressed up. But on the other, I’m all about getting dirty, playing hockey, and saying what’s on my mind. I have been told that I have an “old soul” based on my morals, work ethic, and mind set. I am a believer in Jesus, and strive to imitate Him daily. I love anything that involves crafting and am currently working on Project Life, a cross-stitch quilt, and up-cycling project (along with this one). I would consider myself pretty easy going; I listen to (and enjoy) almost any type of music, especially what I can sing along to (even though singing is not one of my talents). Currently, I go to college at Mizzou where I study nutrition/fitness things. I really do enjoy it, but I’m not one hundred percent sure what I want to do yet. I know that I want to help people get on track with eating/exercise but I don’t wan to pin-point an exact job because I think it will limit me. I’m a fan of Blues hockey, Cardinals baseball, and all things Mizzou Tigers. My parents are supportive, loving, and the hardest working people I know, who want the absolute best for me. They have been my biggest fans since day one. I have one brother, who doubles as one of my closest friends. I am the girlfriend of an amazing guy. Kevin is my other half, hilarious, and encourages me to be a better person every single day. I am doing this project because I don’t like to write things out. I’m so much more of a thinker than a writer, but sometimes I wish I were more of both. I blog as a creative outlet. I always have things running around in my mind, and this is kind of where I keep it all organized!

My goals for this project are just to get something down. I’m normally a perfectionist, which is why there’s normally not a ton of writing on here. I think this workshop is going to help with PL journalling and just writing in general.

My favorite stories include anything sweet and lovey. I’m a huge reader, my favorites are basically anything that is considered a classic. I love the way they speak, especially to each other. I like the formality of the lifestyle and the romanticism in general. I think I like this because I can relate to it in a way. Classics have a lot of real life stuff in them-hardships, love, pain. Nothing like this vampire/warewolf, perfect world, super power baloney that people are writing these days.

My ideal story is real and honest. I’m not a sugar coater, so it probably wouldn’t have a lot of that going on, but we’ll see. I’m not limiting this. I’m letting go.

 photo 27e14afe-1aa4-40da-a8da-919e41453eda_zps5f96ebad.jpg

Here is the first glance at the album I will be using to keep up with Find Your Voice. Ideally, I will post complete thoughts on the blog and then have more visuals and short paragraphs in the album. I want them to be different; the blog more about the words, and the album more visually appealing. I will be posting an update as soon as I can get the pictures printed!

If you are also participating in this workshop, let me know in the comment section below! I would love to get some more inspiration!

Thanks for reading!

*Here are the things I used on the cover page: Album (I bought the whole sn@p binder, but this is just the inside pages. They are 8″x6″.) DIY ThickersBlack with polka dot washi tapeBlue brad, Sparkly teal glitter tape from Recollections (from Michaels)

16 thoughts on “Find Your Voice: Lesson One

  1. keep writing – it is always nice when someone likes your writing, but write because you like to and want to write. good luck with all of your creative projects.

  2. This is great! I do the same thing with my PL- just focus on photos and found objects- journaling always seems to get left “for next week”! But I”m using the Find your voice workshop to push myself as well!
    Good luck!

  3. “My ideal story is real and honest.” Yes! That’s something I want to work on, is being real and being honest. I tend to lean toward the positive side of things, sometimes completely omitting the bad parts. But it’s better to tell the truth!

  4. Looks great :D I’m sure you’ll do fine with your journaling, but I can relate, I’m never terribly fond of my writing either :( I always think of myself as more of a designer than a writer. I’m hoping FYV will help me improve a bit on that area :)

  5. Such wise and thoughtful words – you truly must be blessed with an “old soul” and I think that is wonderful! It’s so great that you are focusing on nutrition/fitness in school.. as someone who has struggled with weight issues all my life, I know that many people will be thankful for your help in the future…. Hello from a fellow FYVer in Florida! :)

  6. Pingback: Find Your Voice: Mini Book Part 1 - Jacqueline Reape

Leave a Reply

