Workout Wednesday

Over the last week, I’ve had some pretty great workouts-I played tennis with Kassandra and started getting into my running plan. The one I am using is designed for running a 5K, and then when I finish with that I’ll move on to a 5K to 10K program. Since I have done similar programs before and have been trying to keep in shape running wise, I started about half-way through the program.

Here is the just of the program (Run 5K app for iPhone):
Each day starts with a 5 minute walking warm up and ends with a 5 minute walking cool down. In addition to this, I always stretch out. Ain’t nobody got time for a pulled muscle.

*Note: this plan recommends 3 days of running per week. If you want to do more, you could always add in a day or two of cross training, yoga, stretching, etc.

Week one: alternate a 1 minute run with a 1.5 minute walk. On day 1/3 alternate 6 times before your cool down, on day 2/3 alternate 7 times and then on the 3rd day alternate 8 times

Week two:alternate a 1.5 minute run with a 2 minute walk. This time, alternate 6 times for each of the three days.

Week three:start with a 1.5 minute run, then a 1.5 minute walk, 3 minute run, 3 minute walk, and then do the whole system over. Do this each day for the three days.

Week four:3 minute run, 1.5 minute walk, 5 minute run, 2.5 minute walk, 3 minute run, 1.5 minute walk, 5 minute run. Do this each day for the three days.

Week five: On the first day, do a 5 minute run, 3 minute walk, five minute run, three minute walk, and then a 5 minute run. On day two, try running for 8 minutes, walking for 5, and then running for another 8. On day three, try running for a whole 20 minutes.

Week six: On the first day, run for 5 minutes, walk for 3, run for 8, walk for 3, and run for 5. On the second day, run for 10, walk for 3, and run for another 10. On day three, try running for 22 minutes straight.

Week seven: For all three days, run for 25 minutes straight.

Week eight: On the first two days, run for 28 minutes and on the final day of the program, run for 30 minutes straight.

What I really love about programs like this is that you can manipulate it to make it work for you. You can do the same day twice, if you felt like you struggled or you can skip ahead if something is too easy. For me, I will be starting on week five. It might be a little easy at first, but I want to be able to ease into the program instead of going to hard too quickly. This also puts me on track for one of the goals that I have set for myself, which is to be able to run a 5K when I am in Hawaii.

Even though I listed this program with those numbers, there are plenty of other programs that increase time/distance little by little to help you reach your goals. Here are some of the ones that I have used in the past:

Run 5k app (free)-this is the one that is listed above. I downloaded it because it’s free and easy to understand. Using the app is helpful because it tells you when to run and when to walk, instead of having to time yourself.

C25K free app (free)-“Couch to 5k” I used this one when I ran with my friend KayLynn. We ran on campus at the rec or the track, and it worked really well.

10K Trainer FREE-Run for PINK – Couch to 10K (free)-this is the 10K version of the previous app taking you from not running at all to a 10K in 14 weeks.

5K runner app (free or $2.99-there are two versions)-another app that pretty much does the same thing as above but uses some different time options. This one starts with a 1 minute run and 1 minute walk.

10K runner app ($3.99)-this one takes you through the steps of 0-5K and then 5K to 10K. I have not actually used this one myself, but it is made by the same company as the one above.

Then you always have Hal Higdon and his running plans, which are so good and you can choose your race distance and then your level (novice, intermediate, advanced, and some distances have walking plans). Recently, he came out with some apps (both on iPhone and android) for half marathon and full marathon training ($9.99). I haven’t used either of these, but I imagine they are just as good as the plans he has up online.

Yesterday after I ran, I continued walking just because it was nice outside and I didn’t have anything better to do. Of course, I took some pictures.

20130605-112952.jpg

20130605-113003.jpg

20130605-113023.jpg

20130605-114521.jpg

20130605-114547.jpg

20130605-114602.jpg

Do you have a really great program or running tip? Let me know below!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

