4 of 21 DIY Projects: Themed Gifts

I made a cute little container for my brother’s girlfriend for her birthday. I am a huge fan of themed gifts (especially girly ones) and let’s be honest, who doesn’t love a little pampering?

20121127-081419.jpg

I purchased a glass container (from Hobby Lobby) that I loved and thought would be versatile if she wanted to change its use. Then I found a ton of small things (in similar colors) that would fit in the container that went with my theme:
-nail clippers
-emery board
-toe separators
-nail polish
-a little bottle of nail polish remover
-cotton balls

To put it together, I first put the cotton balls at the bottom to give it a soft look and cushion at the bottom. Then I filled it with everything else, moving things around until the set up was how I wanted it to look. At the end, I glued a denim flower (that is the same size as the lid) on top and added her name in black foam stickers on the outside.

20121127-084013.jpg

My favorite gifts to give are the ones I want to keep. In the future, I want to do more that are similar to this including:

-housewarming gifts
-Christmas themed
-other pampering ideas (comfy socks, lotion, bubble bath, sugar scrub)
-sweet 16 (anything car related)
-hot cocoa (mix, marshmallows, peppermint candies)
-school supplies

There are a lot of things that can be done with this and there are even more options with bigger glass containers!

Leave a Reply

